Nine to Join TSSAA Hall of Fame



HERMITAGE- – – The 2018 TSSAA Hall of Fame inductees have been selected. Nine
new members will be inducted into the TSSAA Hall of Fame at the annual luncheon at
the Embassy Suites Hotel and Conference Center in Murfreesboro on Saturday, April
14, 2018.
Two administrators, five coaches, one official, and one contributor will be inducted that
day to join others in the annual gathering of those selected since the process began in
Those being inducted at this year’s luncheon are:William (Bill) Quarles, administrator
from Jefferson City; James (Sam) Miles, administrator from Springville; Barbara
Campbell, coach from Brentwood, Robin Dieterich, coach from Nashville; Don
Freudenthal, coach from Nashville; George Quarles, coach from Maryville; Jim
Whitby, coach from Union City; John Caldwell, official from Memphis; and Ron
Bargatze, contributor from Nashville.
The Hall of Fame luncheon will begin at 11:00 a.m. on Saturday, April 14. The luncheon
is to not only honor the new inductees and their families, but to honor all past inductees
into the TSSAA Hall of Fame. Tickets will go on sale on Monday, February 5. You may
purchase the tickets at $25.00 each by visiting our website ( Please
print off the ticket form and mail it to our office along with a check or money order. All
ticket orders will be available for pick-up on the day of the luncheon. There will be NO
ticket sales at the door.
Additional information on the inductees is provided below. Please contact Heather
Carter at if you would like additional information on any of the

inductees or if you have any questions.

Bill Quarles —Educator and administrator in Jefferson County for over 40 years;
Assistant Principal and Athletic Director at Jefferson Co. High School from 1977 – 1992;
Served as Athletic Director as well as basketball and tennis coach at Jefferson City High
School from 1966 – 1975; very instrumental in the development of multiple sports
programs during his time at Jefferson Co.; Retired from Jefferson Co. School System in
Sam Miles —Longtime administrator and coach in West Tennessee; coached basketball
at Trenton Peabody and Dyersburg for over 10 years; Principal at Peabody High School
from 1983 – 1995; Principal at Dyersburg High School from 1995 – 2006; served on
TSSAA Board of Control for 12 years (1994 – 2006); Henry County Director of Schools
from 2008 – 2012; employed by State Department of Education as a teacher evaluator;
Retired in July of 2015.
Barbara Campbell—Teacher and coach for 35 years, with 30 of those at Brentwood
High School; began career in Texas before her first coaching job in Tennessee in 1988;
has coached volleyball for 30 years and softball for 7 during her 30-year tenure at
Brentwood; overall record of 1627-292; ranked 3rdnationally and 1st in Tennessee for
most wins; 25 state tournament appearances; 7 state runner-ups; 13 TSSAA state
Robin Dieterich—Began coaching career in 1979 at Father Ryan High School; has
coached boys’ and girls’ soccer for almost 40 years; has coached in developmental
soccer programs, club programs, and head coaching at both Brentwood High School
and Father Ryan High School; his girls’ and boys’ teams have a combined 8 TSSAA
state championships; the boys’ and girls’ teams both won in the same school year in
2012 – 2013; has compiled over 300 career wins and carries a 64% winning percentage;
continues to serve as both boys’ and girls’ soccer coach at Father Ryan.
Don Freudenthal—Longtime softball coach at Ezell-Harding Christian School with over
800 career wins; his teams made 19 TSSAA state tournaments, winning 13 titles and
finishing runner-up 3 times; overall state tournament record of 56-11; served as athletic
director from 2008 – 2014; middle school principal from 1987 to 2008; retired from
coaching in 2014.
George Quarles—Maryville High School head football coach for 18 years; made 15
appearances in the BlueCross Bowl state championships; 11 TSSAA State titles; 16
region titles; record of 250 wins and 16 losses; from 2004-2008 his teams held a 74-
game winning streak and from 2013-2015 his teams held a 44-game winning streak; 8
undefeated seasons; lost only 9 of his last 249 games; left Maryville after 2016 season
to become the Associate Head Coach/Offensive Coordinator at Furman University.
Jim Whitby —Longtime boys’ basketball coach at Obion Co. Central High School for 19
years (1982 – 2001) and Lake Co. High School for 9 years (2001 – 2010) amassed over
850 career wins; TSSAA State Champions in Class AA in 1986…his son, Cannon,
played on the ’86 state championship team and at the time set 5 state tournament
records and scored 45 points in the championship game…his teams made a total of 3

TSSAA State tournament appearances.

John Caldwell— Registered as a TSSAA basketball official in 1965; officiated 13
District, 7 Regional, and 4 Sub-State tournaments; worked the 1975 TSSAA Girls’ State
Basketball tournament and the 1978 Boys’ State Basketball tournament; served as a
TSSAA basketball supervisor from 1978 – 1988; Assigner for Memphis and Shelby Co.
from 1978 – 1985; instructor at TSSAA summer official’s camps; received TSSAA 50-
year Award of Merit in 2015; officiated college basketball from 1968 – 1986.
Ron Bargatze—Coach B or “RB” was a high school basketball coach at Cocke Co. High
School before heading to the college ranks; had stints at Belmont, Tennessee Tech,
Vanderbilt, Trevecca, and Austin Peay State University; extensive career in sports
broadcasting; radio color analyst for Vanderbilt basketball, OVC basketball and TSSAA
football and basketball for over 30 years; in addition to basketball, has also called state
golf and bowling championships for the TSSAA NFHS Network; Director of Sports
Medicine for Baptist Hospital and created a partnership with TSSAA that provided
trainers and sports medicine staff at all state championship sites; sponsored a summer
leadership program that led to the Right Team Student Services program that is still a

part of TSSAA today.